top of page

Writing prompts can be fun sometimes.

On occasion, I respond to writing prompts or pictures that really click with something in me. On March 25th of this year, I wrote this in response to the prompt on the Freelance Writing Jobs page on Facebook. (Yes, I know it's a timesink)

Moonless night; Scary time for many. A sign of ill omens and other unfortunate tidings. Assassins gather. She shivers in the cold as I hug her one last time and step outside to greet the evening air and my fate. I smell the faint scent of Spring air and hear the tingling clink of water running off the roof, as the first arrow hits me with a sharp thud and I groan hearing the twang of the bow. They've been gathering for weeks now. A poor investment; A shot in the dark to save my family had left me with debts unpaid and unfavorable attention aimed my way. I had one more chance to save them. Save them all. I put it all in this one shot. My sacrifice will save them. "You promised..." I almost whisper. "They'll come to no harm. Our deal still holds." The clouds gather and threaten destruction with every moment. "Yes, my friend." He glares at me with eyes that look red in the lamp light amplified by his strange accent. "Your village will be safe. The truce will hold." He motions to the others. They all aim and fire on his command. A new day will come for them, finally, after all these years. My last thoughts escape my lips in a voice I've never heard before, "At last..." They say, as the clouds open up to wash away the foul imprints of my life. "I find peace in the rain." ©2015 Jim Folliard

Thanks for reading.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

 © 2015 Jim Folliard

bottom of page